Photo Manipulation by Erik Johansson

I came across this artist whilst ‘Stumbling’.

Erik Johansson is a digital artist from Gothenburg, Sweden. All images are taken with his Canon EOS 5d and then manipulated in Photoshop to create a dream-like vision of the way the world could be seen through the eyes of Erik. I love this form of illusionist manipulation as you need the skills on the Mac but also the ability to envision each scene.

5853c18300d63c3d4ea4f356a1c59e03

Gå din egen väg (Go your own road)

I interviewed Erik to find out a little bit more about this unusual art.

(S) When did your creativeness come about and how have you got to where you are today?

(E) I have always been drawing since I was a kid. In the year 2000 I got my first digital camera as a birthday present. I discovered that it was fun to change the photos in different ways. It was mostly photos of my family and party pictures of my friends. In 2007 I was out in the Swedish countryside with a friend who bought a DSLR-camera a year earlier. I tried his camera a few times before but this day I decided that I would get my own DSLR-camera. I have started to get some work from different advertisement agencies.

(S) What are your influences and why?

(E) I am influenced from lots of things. I look at photos a lot on the Internet. Some of my favourite artists are: Salvador Dali and M.C. Escher. I find it hard to name just one photographer.

(S) Have you done any commercial work?

(E) Yes, but until now only in Sweden. Nothing big yet, which I am still waiting for.

45cdc0a7651772e0df2dcc3f2074b1f1

Road-workers Coffee break

(S) Who would you like to work for/with?

(E) It would be really fun to do a campaign for a big company where I would both do the photographing and retouch. No one particular but I would like to be a part of the creative process.

(S) What are you currently working on,?

(E) At the moment I have some personal projects that I am working on.

(S) Could you elaborate on this?

(E) Sure, at the moment I’m not 100 % sure what I will do for the next weeks, I have some ideas about doing a project with a fish in a lake. I’m afraid that I can’t say more about it at the moment except that it will be in the same style as the other photos on my website and I will probably publish it in a few weeks.

931d207c0206caac2029bd9760f940ee

Arms break, vases don't

(S) Do you ever get creative block and what do you do to get out of it?

(E) Yes, I think everyone gets that at some point. I have a book where I put all the ideas I get so sometimes I can get some inspiration from it.

And finally…

(S) What advice would you offer creative graduates who are looking to get into the design scene?

(E) Find your own thing and put all your energy to it, everyone is good at something. Don’t be afraid of trying and remember to have fun.

To see more of Erik’s art visit www.alltelleringet.com

About stuart male

Stuart is a Graphic designer from Kent.
This entry was posted in featured artist, photo manipulation, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

